Edcon honours SAPS, shows appreciation for outstanding public service

Best station of the year for 2017 Financial year: Brixton SAPS.

Edcon, South Africa’s largest non-food retailer, in partnership with the South African Police Service (SAPS), hosted the 6th annual Johannesburg Central Cluster Excellence Awards on September 22 at Edcon’s Retail Academy in Ormonde in a show of appreciation for outstanding public service.
The SAPS Johannesburg Central Cluster consists of eight police stations in Johannesburg, namely: Johannesburg Central, Booysens, Mondeor, Moffatview, Langlaagte, Brixton, Sophiatown and Fairland. The awards is a milestone celebration on the SAPS Cluster calendar.
Elelwane Pahlana, General Manager of Transformation at Edcon, said, “Edcon is proud of its longstanding association with the SAPS Johannesburg Central Cluster and hopes that the awards continue  to serve as a source of pride to those who are shortlisted and individuals who go on to become winners. It is our way of acknowledging the hard-work, dedication and sacrifices those members of the police force make daily under very difficult conditions.”
Edcon has also been involved in other crime prevention initiatives in partnership with SAPS. During the past five years, the retailer donated more than 50 mobile trailers that are used as police contact points across the country. The police trailers have played an important role in ensuring access and visible policing in areas where there are no police stations. The units are also used for reporting crimes and where community members can also certify documents.
In addition to the Johannesburg Central Cluster Excellence Awards, in 2014, Edcon also forged a partnership with the wider safety and security cluster by partnering with the Gold Reef City Casino and  the Johannesburg Metropolitan Police (JMPD) to install Closed Circuit Television (CCTV) cameras around Edgardale in Crown Mines and in the area surrounding the Gold Reef City precinct in Ormonde.
The winners in the various categories of the SAPS Johannesburg Cluster Excellence Awards are:
Admin employee of the year (Level 1-7)
1st –   SAC D Raophala (Jhb Central)
2nd –   A C V Mhlari (Mondeor)
3rd-    A C D.S. Naidoo (Langlaagte)
Employee of the year (Level 8-12)
1st –   Lt Colonel T.J. Lempe (Jhb Central)
2nd –   Lt Colonel M.M. Manzini (Jhb Central)

Detective employee of the year (Level 1-7)
1st –   Constable T.E. Mokgosi (Jhb Central)
Detective employee of the year (Level 8-12)
1st –   Constable Z.E. Nyawose (Sophiatown)
Detective group of the year
Robberies General Investigation (Jhb Central
Reservists of the year
1st –   R/Constable S.I.B Dlamini (Jhb Central)
2nd –   R/Constable S.E.Mthombeni (Jhb Central)
3rd –   R/Constable M. Ngobeni (Jhb Central)
VISPOL group of the year
Flash (Sophiatown)

Disabled person of the year
S/Tel Operator J.M Roets (Jhb Central)
Women of the year
SPO P.M. Lefifi (Jhb Central)

Cluster commander’s Award
Best station of the year for 2017 Financial year: Brixton SAPS
Long Service Awards 20 and 30 years. A total of 26 officers from all of the eight Johannesburg Central Clusters received Long Service Awards, with 23 collecting the 20-year honour while another 3 were recognized for being in the SAPS for 30 years.

Cannedy Netshitungulu

Latest News



Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

Mid South Coast Rising Sun
Phoenix Sun
Rising Sun Chatsworth
Rising Sun Lenasia
Rising Sun Overport

Your details:

Your friends: